Thresholds Features Competition

photo © Michael Shaheen, 2013

Every year, the THRESHOLDS International Short Fiction Feature Writing Competition invited essays from around the world that celebrated the short story form.

We asked that entries either recommend a short story, a collection or an anthology, or profiled the life and writing of a short story author, and that they not exceed 2,000 words. Judged anonymously, the Competition awarded the winning writer £500, with two runner-up prizes of £100 each.

Below, we collect together the winning feature essays from the Competition’s inception in 2012 to it’s closure in 2018.

2018 Winner:
Meditations on Motherhood’ by Kate Finegan

2018 Runners-up:
The Playboy and the Bog Man’ by Erinna Mettler
The Tyranny of History’ by Farah Ahamed


2017 Winner:
Did Borges Write the Masterpiece of the 21st Century?’ by Tyler Miller

2017 Runners-up:
storyteller, liar, dreamer’ by Cathy Sweeney
Miss Brill’s Lament’ by Jessica Whyte


2016 Winner:
The Iron Which Pierces the Heart’ by Alex Coulton

2016 Runners-up:
An Epiphany in the Company of Alice Munro’ by Mary O’Donnell
The Radical Horror and Loneliness of The Martian Chronicles’ by Tyler Miller


2015 Winner:
The Laureate of the Veld’ by Richard Newton

2015 Runners-up:
Nothing is the way it used to be, yet everything is like before’ by Dan Powell
Rediscovering the Deep South’ by Richard Buxton


2014 Winner:
Wolves at the Hearthside’ by Sharon Telfer

2014 Runners-up:
A Woman of Words’ by Gill Thompson
The Unnerving Tales of Yoshihiro Tatsumi’ by Dan Powell


2013 Winner:
A Trio of Irish Short Stories’ by Nuala Ní Chonchúir

2013 Runner-up:
The Games of Night’ by Dan Powell


2012 Winner:
We Recommend: H.P. Lovecraft’ by Geoff Holder


2 thoughts on “Thresholds Features Competition

Leave a Reply