Short Story Masterclass with… Mark Haddon

('The Pier Falls' © David Frankel, 2014)




An exclusive THRESHOLDS collaboration with the
held by the Charleston Trust, East Sussex.


In the second instalment of this year’s Short Story Masterclass podcasts, Jac Cattaneo talks with award-winning author Mark Haddon about relishing havoc, writing into the gaps left by mythology, exploring the landscape of the body, and leaving the reader guessing.


Mark Haddon is an author, illustrator and screenwriter who has written fifteen books for children and won two BAFTAs. His bestselling novel, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, was published simultaneously by Jonathan Cape and David Fickling in 2003. It won seventeen literary prizes, including the Whitbread Award. His poetry collection, The Talking Horse and the Sad Girl and the Village Under the Sea, was published by Picador in 2005, and his last novel, The Red House, was published by Jonathan Cape in 2012. His highly acclaimed 2016 short story collection, The Pier Falls and Other Stories, was described as ‘Superbly gripping’ (Sunday Times) and ‘Terrifically compelling’ (Guardian).



Listen to Short Story Masterclass

with Mark Haddon

( 34 minutes)



With warm thanks to the organisers of the Small Wonder Festival.



Jac Cattaneo is an artist, writer and lecturer in Fine Art and Creative Writing. Her prize-winning short stories and poems have been published in a wide range of journals and anthologies. Jac is currently studying for her PhD at the University of Chichester and writing a novel. She tweets @jaccattaneo



Previous post Haunted State
Next post Getting Intimate with Place